Iqbal

“Yesterday morning at about 4, I saw that
glorious visitor of our hemisphere known as Halley’s
comet. Once in seventy-five years this superb swimmer of
infinite space appears on our skies. It is only with the eyes
of my grandsons that I shall see it again. The state of my
mind was quite unique. I felt as if something indescribably
vast had been closed up within the narrow limits of my
clay: Yet the thought that I could not see this wanderer
again brought home to me the painful fact of my littleness.
For the moment all ambition was killed in me.”

                                                                                                                                    15th May 1910 – Iqbal

I wished to say something about Iqbal on his 75th death anniversary. I would say that all ambition is born in me when I read his work. My prayers for this great man. He enclosed infinities in single lines.

One thought on “Iqbal

  1. ” I would say that all ambition is born in me when I read his work”
    That is the exactly how I feel but I could never put it into words

Leave a Reply

